NSW Māori Rugby League Tournament

NSW Māori Rugby League Tournament

New South Wales Māori Rugby League was established in 2003 for the purpose of nurturing Māori living in New South Wales in the sport of Rugby League. The organization holds an annual tournament known widely as the Nga Hau E Wha Tournament. It is traditionally held on Saturday prior to the National Rugby League Grand Final. The tournament is one of the key events for Maori living in New South Wales and attracts interest from all over Australia as well as overseas. Teams have ventured to New Zealand to participate in the New Zealand Maori Rugby League Tournament and have had successful campaigns over those events.

New South Wales is split into the four compass directions where they form North, East, South and West teams, hence the name Nga Hau E Wha. The four teams compete in a straight knockout tournament on one day. In the past teams from New Zealand have joined the competition and added some colour to the tournament.

Players are selected from all grades with the only stipulation that they have whakapapa Māori. Many players have gone on to be selected by National Rugby League Clubs. There have also been a number of players represent New Zealand, Australia and their respective states.

Attend Contact

Time & Date

Saturday, 30 September 2017, 08:00 AM - Saturday, 30 September 2017, 05:00 PM


Cnr Forrester and Boronia Rd, St Marys NSW 2760

View map


$10 children under 16 free